just beleaf

It’s really easy to find good pizza, burgers, bagels in New Jersey but what is not so easy to find is a really good salad. I mean really good without having to change your expectations and break the caloric intake for the day. I had faith though- faith that good salads were out there and that they were going to find me (or I find them- whatever, that’s just logistics). It took some time, as most things worth having do, but I finally found not one, not two, not three, but FOUR really good salads in just a couple of weeks. They’re out there people, you just got to believe.

Salad #1 comes to you from Stefano’s Pizza in Branchburg. Although this place seems like an ordinary pizzeria, what lies beneath the surface is something unexpected. It’s an outdoor oasis filled with trees, plants, a huge brick oven, and a wood burning fire place. You’d never know that you were in the middle of a strip mall when you enter. That being said, their Stefano’s Salad is just as satisfying to the palate as the decor is to the eyes.

stefano's salad

It is piled high with mixed baby greens, candied walnuts, gorgonzola cheese, freshly cut pears and a side of a yummy, sweet, and oh so perfectly colored raspberry vinaigrette. I added grilled chicken for some protein!

stefano's salad 2

Every bite was just as delicious as the first. One ingredient didn’t overwhelm any of the others. The salad is sweet, savory, filling and ever so pleasing to the eye. I mean you eat with your eyes first, right? Try it out! I’m sure you’ll agree.

Salad #2: This salad comes to you from the Park Ave Diner in South Plainfield, NJ. There’s alot of dishes I could write about from this diner and I probably will one day but most recently, I decided to try their greek salad. Mostly because it contained grape leaves and I LOVE grape leaves.

greek salad 1

The greek salad is made with crunchy romaine lettuce, onions, sweet tomatoes, salty olives, fresh cucumbers, CREAMY feta cheese, grape leaves, and warm pita. Again, I decided to add some tender grilled chicken. All of this was generously topped with a greek vinaigrette. This salad was light and refreshing. It would be perfect on a warm day when you need something full of flavor but not something that is going to weigh you down. I will definitely revisit this baby again!

greek salad

Salad #3 is from the same diner. I didn’t exactly order this salad but if you haven’t noticed by now I’m not really a red meat lover. Anywho, for those of you who do love steak, this is the salad for you!

steak salad

I mean the presentation of this is amazing. I do love a good fried onion so I’m quite sure that this salad was amazing! Plus, it had feta cheese on it and you can’t go wrong with that.

Last, but absolutely not least, Salad #4 from Duke Farms cafe in Hillsborough. Yes, I’ve written about this place before but I think this salad may have topped the sandwich that I originally wrote about in the “heavenly” ham sandwich. Just kidding. I can’t play favorites- it’s all about what you’re in the mood for!

Anyway, the blueberry walnut salad was EXACTLY what I needed after walking around for about 2 hours exploring the actual Duke Farm.

blueberry walnut salad 1

I have to say, I believe this to be pretty impressive for a “cafe”. This thing was HUGE! Mixed greens, walnuts, gorgonzola cheese, and piled HIGH with a crazy amount of sweet blueberries. I’m pretty sure there was a whole carton of blueberries, I’m just saying-every bite was filled with a sweet burst of flavor! The savory cheese counteracted that sweetness and the walnuts provided a nice crunch. I honestly, have no idea what the dressing was although I wish I did because I think it’s my favorite dressing I’ve ever had on a salad. It was slightly sweet and just a little bit tart.

So people, the bottom line is you just have to open your eyes and mouths to see and taste that there are healthy dishes you can have when you’re out having a bite to eat in this GARDEN state. Good things are coming your way- just beleaf!

For more information about each of these locations please visit:

 

Stefano’s Pizza

Park Ave Diner

Duke Farms

Leave a comment