pizza fri-yay!

Ever since I can remember my family would always resort to pizza for Friday night dinner. I actually believed at one point that all families have pizza on Fridays. Turns out, they don’t. Some actually have pizza on Tuesday nights. Which is totally cool but if you know me, I like consistency and pizza on a Friday evening is something I look forward to every week.

I mean I do change up my order from week to week. I’m not exactly like Sheldon Cooper ordering the same exact take out meal prepared exactly the same way every time. I do like variety.

If we’re lucky, sometimes we order pizza from a special place. A place that is extremely delicious but just a little bit out of reach for a rush hour Friday drive. We heard of Sciortino’s in South Amboy from a family friend. They told us that it is their FAVORITE pizza. So, we had to give it a try.

sweet pizza pie

Turns out, although we’ve been having pizza every Friday night for the past 26 years, we’ve still been missing out. The pizza has a very different taste from your typical pizzeria pizza. The crust is well done so the edges have burnt, crispy cheese that is to die for. The sauce is a little bit sweet which I believe is my favorite part about the pizza. It counteracts the charred flavor from the crust. Then, they smother the entire pizza which cheese. Because we love it so much, we actually have to order a pan size pizza. It goes quick!

up close and personal pizza pie

The pan size pizza has a thicker crust than their regular round pizza. Although still crispy, it also has that doughy, easy to chew, soft as a pillow part as well. I’m telling you-it’s worth it. You’re going to want to have left overs for the days to come. If you don’t you’ll be upset when you’re craving it again the next day and can’t have it. So save yourself the disappoint and go big.  It’s pizza Fri-YAY!

For more information visit: Sciortinos Harbor Lights

ps: The sausage parm is also AMAZING. That’s coming from someone who doesn’t typically like sausage. Try it out!

Leave a comment