hibacheap

Hibachi is a great option for food and entertainment all in one place. However, I find that many chain hibachi restaurants are over priced, and well, over played. The places are so crowded and the cooks always seem like they’re in la la land because they’ve done the same thing 60 times in just one night.

A friend and I wanted to have hibachi that was affordable and easy but that wouldn’t compromise any of the flavor. Enter: Sushi House in Bridgewater, NJ. This restaurant is located close to Bridgewater Commons but far enough away from all the fuss. Half of the space is saved for sushi and regular entrees and the other half are the hibachi grills.

The very best part about this place is the price for everything that you get! I was able to get salad with ginger dressing, mushroom soup, shrimp, chicken, noodles, fried rice, vegetables AND ice cream. All of the whopping price of $20.

The soup and the salad seem to be standard. I ate most of the salad and took a few sips of the soup. It’s easy to start eating right away and not save room for all the of the food that is about to be placed on your plate.

Then, we were given fried rice, noodles, and the shrimp appetizer.The fried rice is probably my favorite part. It’s sticky, salty, and absorbs all of the flavors that surround it. Please tell me how many times you’ve paid extra for the delicious hibachi fried rice. Nope, not me! Not here! Not now. The noodles are super delicious too! Just plain fried noodles you can’t beat. Now how often have you gotten noodles AND fried rice?? And then shrimp too! Three perfectly cooked pieces of shrimp that are just as tasty when eaten alone or dipped in the mustard and ginger sauce. I still can’t decide which one in my favorite-but I guess I really don’t have to.sushi house 1.JPG

That’s just getting started. Next up is a heaping pile of hibachi chicken. I mean HUGE! My plate is now a mountain of garlic and other asian flavors covering all sorts of protein and carbs. This is something I like to see…and taste.

sushi house 2

And finally, the grilled vegetables. Something about these vegetables that can’t be beaten. I don’t know if it’s the way they are cooked, the method of introduction (catching the zucchini in your mouth or making an onion volcano) or what but I’ll take it! And the extras!

sushi house 3

And just when you think that’s it. You’re given a bowl of ice cream. Regular flavors are served but I particularly like their green tea or red bean ice cream. Scrumptious way to tame the garlic and onion flavors that you just inhaled.

Needless to say both my stomach and wallet were pretty full for the next couple of days. Nothing can beat that feeling!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment