jalapeno grill

((You actually have to say that pun out loud in order to get it. Try it!))

Bagels, along with macaroni and cheese, are one of the few things that I absolutely cannot say “no” to when they are in front of me. I have to have it and if I don’t, I drive myself crazy with cravings until I can have my own. So, it’s better to just cave in to the bagel and have one when I want one.

Typically, I enjoy a good everything bagel because I love all of the savory flavors that are induced into your mouth at one time. Ever since seeing the many, many awesome posts from The Bagel Store in Brooklyn, I’m on the hunt for something fun and creative in New Jersey. I’m sure nothing will beat the Bagel Store’s rainbow bagel but there has to be something different but delicious out there for me. After googling and yelping for many, many days, I finally decided that the first new bagel place I wanted to try was “Knot Just Bagels” in Woodbridge, NJ. 

Knot Just Bagels received rave reviews for their french toast bagel. And although intriguing, I was more interested in the “Cheddar Jalapeño” review.  It looked delicious with pieces of jalapeño all throughout the cooked dough and topped with cheddar cheese baked right into the center of the bagel. I had also heard from locals in the area that although their french toast bagel was the most popular, all of their specialty bagels are gone by 9am on the weekends. So, I not only had serious cravings but now a sense of urgency to fulfill these cravings.

Lucky me, I have a dad who understands my needs. He woke up extra early and went to Knot Just Bagels and picked up a few for everyone in the house! What a nice guy! When I saw him, he told me that their oven had shut off right before he got there and that he would have had to wait 10 minutes in order to pick from more options than what was available. But because I had made it so clear that I wanted to try the jalapeño bagel, he asked the owner about them. The owner then told him that they have ONE single jalapeño bagel in the back. “Do you want it?” he said. My dad said “Of course!” So again, I’m a lucky, lucky girl. It was meant to be.

jalapeno cheddar bagel

jalapeno cheddar bagel2

Although it looks like a roll, it really is a cheddar cheese filled bagel. Boy, do I love cheese! I was so excited to try this new flavor, I cut it up into four pieces so that I could really examine what it was all about.

cheddar cheese
that cheese dough
jalapeno cheddar
pieces of jalapeno
jalapeno cheddar bite
couldn’t wait any longer

The outside was slightly crunchy and salty from the cheese. If you love the taste of slightly burnt cheese, then this is for you. The inside was soft, fluffy, doughy, with just enough spice! I can’t believe I’ve been missing out on this type of bagel my whole life. Where have I been? What have I been doing? It seems like I’ve been living all wrong.

FINE!!! I’ll admit it. My dad also brought home the french toast bagel. Since it was there, how could I not try this one as well? Well, I couldn’t…

when it looked like that
when it looked like that

french toast bagel2

doughy bagel

It was a typical egg bagel on the inside BUT coated with cinnamon and sugar on the outside. The cinnamon and sugar gave the bagel even more of a crunch than the jalapeño bagel. It gave it a nice, sweet taste. You can see how fluffy and doughy the bagel was from how my finger is holding on to it. It sort of melted in your mouth when you ate it. I believe that it is sacrilege to toast a freshly made bagel so I just ate this one with plain cream cheese.

french toast bite

But I do believe this would be even more awesome toasted with butter.

Usually I don’t like when people talk too close to me and are in my personal space. But I definitely can see how one would love for this to be all(jal) up(ap) in(e) your(no) grill. Start your day off right!

For more information visit: http://www.knotjustbagels.com/

Check them out for their other deli and catering offerings!

Leave a comment