omelette you decide

It’s a very rare opportunity that I get to indulge in a delicious breakfast. For one, I wake up, get ready, commute to my job, and start working every morning all before 7 am during the week. On the weekends, I take the extra morning time to make sure I get a good workout in at the gym. (I have to-look at the stuff I eat).

Then, there are moments in time when a friend says she will commute 40+ minutes to go to a breakfast spot by me so that I can write a blog post (and for gossip purposes, of course), and I’m all for it!

We decided to go over the the Skylark Diner in Edison, NJ. You may have heard of this before because Guy Fieri visited this spot on his show “Diners Drive-Ins and Dives“. Guy’s main topic about this diner was the fact that it had a full service bar serving specialty cocktails, beer, and wine- which of course is a plus. However, the breakfast here is also one to talk about.

Spoiler alert:

skylarkbreakfast

The retro vibe upscale “diner” offers many traditional breakfast items like simple eggs and bacon. In addition, it also serves up a long list of specialty french toasts, crepes, pancakes, waffles, and omelettes. An omelette is exactly what I went for…

healthy start

I ordered the healthy start breakfast with some minor alterations. The egg white omelette is filled with tomatoes, broccoli, and cheddar cheese. It is HUGE, so fluffy, and light. I ate this entire thing and didn’t feel like I was going to explode. On the side, always the favorite- a heaping serving of bacon! The salty and crunchy bacon is perfect after a bite of the light and fluffy eggs.

pileofbacon

On the side is a large cup of fresh fruit. Even in the middle of February this fruit tasted sweet and delicious. Each piece (no matter the type) exploded in your mouth and cleansed your palette- like if you were having a glass of juice with your breakfast without all the excess sugar guilt. It’s a great combination.

Warning: Graphic Imagegraphic omelette

Like I said, the omelette is huge and oozing with cheese and filled with vegetables. It’s healthy, packed with protein, and the perfect way to start the day.

To top it off and make it even more fabulous, nine grain toast was placed in a basket with a side of different spreads. I love whole grain bread because of the crunch of all the grains and oats. It always adds depth.

9 grain toast

But when you toast the bread for extra crunch and top it with strawberry butter– you know you’ve reached new heights.

toast and strawberry butter

So, there’s no discussion whether or not your should head over to the Skylark Diner for their breakfast (and drinks-thanks Guy) but I’m going to let you decide what you  want to order. Judging by the way this meal was prepared and served, I have a feeling you can’t go wrong.

For more information visit: Skylar Diner

Leave a comment