so nice to meat you

As I was scrolling through my Instagram feed one day, I noticed that a place called “Annie’s Deli” started to follow me. I honestly don’t think I would have heard of this place if it wasn’t for this social media intervention. I checked out a few of their pictures and their sandwiches looked delicious!

I decided to try and find other pieces of evidence that would support my opinion of a this possibly being a good deli. So, I looked them up on yelp. They were given FOUR stars! Wow! Some of the comments included that their food is fresh and the staff is very friendly. And I have to say… I agree.

Their menu is what officially sold me. This was a place I needed to visit. The sandwiches all have really funny names. Any place that can combine food and creativity is a win for me. I always thought it would be cool to go to a diner and order something like “shingle with a shimmy and a shake”. It just sounds fun! Surprisingly it only means buttered toast with jam but when said like that, I’ll take two! Click on the link below to see their creative sandwich names OR head over there to check it out!

outside annies deli
2095 Burnt Mills Road, Pluckemin, NJ

I think experience is just as important as the meal. Look how charming this place is! The building is long but the inside is narrow. You can tell that it used to be a house. When you order, you are literally walking up to a makeshift counter to the entrance of the house’s kitchen. It’s adorable. The kitchen probably looks like the one you would expect to have in an ordinary house-cabinets, counter, sink, simple appliances. There aren’t any tables inside the building, or at least not that I saw, but it was nice enough when I visited to sit outside.

But now to the meal. There are so many options! I don’t know how many people I told to go in front of me in line while I dissected the menu to figure out my best option. Many locals visit this place and their decisions seemed so easy- most of the ones I heard were for the “Junkyard Dog“.  So, I went with the crowd this time.

The Junkyard Dog on Rye.

presentation is everything
Packaged so perfectly.

When things look that neat and organized, it sends butterflies to my stomach.

junkyard dog

Anyway, the Junkyard Dog has turkey, ham, bacon, muenster cheese, Russian dressing, and cole slaw. Yes, it’s a whole lot of stuff. Yes, it’s a whole lot of delicious.

junkyard dog upclose

The bread is SO fresh, which I find hard to come by in a deli. The turkey and ham are perfectly proportioned. The bacon adds the perfect salty crunch. (Kind of like crushing potato chips on your sandwich but BETTER).

The sandwich isn’t dry because of the addition of Russian dressing and coleslaw. The creamy, vinegar taste stands out at every bite. 

junkyard dog1
So nice to meat you. 

The sandwich hit the spot for a midday meal. I will definitely want to eat it again, or maybe try the “Colonel Mustard” next time. Thank you “Annie’s Deli” for following me on Instagram-Delis will never be the same to me.

For more information go to: Annie’s Deli

6 thoughts on “so nice to meat you

  1. Hi.I’m Roman, owner of Annie’s deli.
    Thank you for the wonderful review.
    We’ve been in business for over 30 years and always strive to give our customers the best quality product.
    We are in a historic building so can not expand to have seating.
    Thank you very much and hope to see you again for the “Colonel Mustard”, or”Tooth Fairy”, or “Prince Charming”, or one that you might want to create and add an interesting exotic name.

    Like

    1. Hi Roman,

      I was thinking about making a trip back to Annie’s Deli in the near future. 🎉 I’d like to make my own sandwich with a creative name if the offer still stands. Is there a chance I could contact you by an email to ask you a few questions about the ingredients that are available? I’m giving myself cravings thinking about this sandwich!!! If you’d like to reply by email my address is bernetk106@gmail.com. Thank you thank you thank you!!!!

      Katie
      Ps: I heard you know my friend Kristen Murphy! Small world!

      Like

Leave a comment