now watch me dip, dip

Dip is a word that has multiple meanings. For instance, in one scenario it can be a dance move when one slightly and briefly lowers their upper body to the beat of a song. In another, it can be a delectable, thick “sauce” that is transported to your mouth by bread, crackers, chips, or vegetables. But what happens when you are eating a dip that makes you want to dip?

My friend had told me about Bolu in Basking Ridge, NJ awhile ago and I finally got the chance to go with her this past week. The restaurant is an upscale version of your regular brick oven pizzeria. Everything is very clean and well put together. They offer many organic, vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free options. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive. And the food… well …it makes me want to dance.

To start, they place charred Italian bread on a wood board with a pimento cheese spread. It’s irresistible. It’s sweet and salty. The bread is crunchy and it is the perfect delivery vehicle for the creamy spread. My taste buds are starting to get their groove on. It’s truly difficult to stop eating it.

pimento cheese spread

But I eventually do because the MAIN EVENT has arrived at my table. Continue reading “now watch me dip, dip”