soy special

There’s nothing better than eating dinner with people who are not technically related by blood but seem like they could and should be. These are the people that you would say are a step above your “friends” and the ones who bring out the best in you. They’re the people that make you forget your cell phone and that the outside world even exists- they help you escape. I’m sure there are people in your life you could think of that fit this kind of description. Well, at least I hope you can.

So long introduction short, I got to spend a special Saturday night at Sushi-O in Edison with the thing that I’ve cared about for a long time and I’m not just talking about the sushi rolls that I ate.

To start this amazing, very fulfilling meal, we ordered the miso soup and the kani salad.

The servings were HUGE. This wasn’t just a tiny bowl of miso soup but a full bowl of warm, salty broth loaded with tofu and scallions. And the kani salad wasn’t just a couple pieces of crab broken up and mixed with spicy mayo. It was an entire dish of crab mixed with this creamy and spicy condiment over a huge bed of lettuce.

To follow, we ordered WAY TOO MANY sushi rolls. This is a perfect of example of our eyes being so much bigger than our stomachs.

sushiplate1

sushio2

sushio3

That was just one plate.

sushio1

There’s the second.

I won’t go through and bore you by naming and explaining each one. But the bottom line of the story is… Every roll and piece of sushi is very fresh. The rolls were intricately created, designed, displayed, and eaten. The sauces mixed together forming explosions of flavor in your mouth. From spicy to cool. From creamy to crunchy textures. From fried and battered to fresh and bright. This meal fulfills all of the cravings that you may have. We were full of food and full of happiness.

I know I have written about a few sushi places in the past but I can say that Sushi-O sticks out in my mind from all of the other places around because of its creative menu. It offers more than just the typical spicy tuna roll or California roll. There are full pages in the menu with specialty rolls that have creative names and combinations of different fish, rice, seaweed, soy bean wraps, and sauces. I’m sure all of which are equally as delicious.

Check out there soy special menu at Sushi O